B.jpg

MUŻE.X

SHAPING MUSEUM FUTURES

The Pre-Conference Webinar Events

 

October to December 2020

Six views
by Six Special Guests

We are delighted to present six international voices from the museum world, each of whom shall be sharing views and perspectives about museum futures in six pre-conference webinar events.

 

Each speaker shall present a personal reaction to future challenges and ambitions during a dedicated webinar. Towards the end, Mike Murawski, change leader and committed advocate for more equitable and community-centred museums shall present his reflections on the presentation and discussion. The webinars shall be moderated by Prof. Carmel Borg and Dr Sandro Debono from the Department of Arts, Open Communities and Adult Education, at the University of Malta. 

 

We have asked speakers to react to the conference theme - 'Shaping Museum Futures' - through their very own lens, experience, advocacy and expertise. Knowing too well that this is the topic of the moment facing museums across the globe, the webinars shall hopefully contribute to the much-needed discussion about museums and their role in a post-COVID19 world. 

 

The pre-conference webinar events precede the call for papers and posters for the conference 'MUŻE.X - Shaping Museum Futures' taking place in October 2021. 

 

 

 

Nina Simon

Nina Simon is the Spacemaker and CEO of OF/BY/FOR ALL, a global nonprofit that creates digital tools to help civic and cultural organizations become more inclusive, relevant, and sustainable. Nina is best known for her seminal publications - The Participatory Museum (2010) and The Art of Relevance (2016). 

Thursday 15 October

 

18.30 CET (Malta) 

09.30 PDT

03.30 AEST

Diane Drubay

Diane Drubay is a long-standing member of the museum and innovation effervescence, a specialist in museum strategy but also an event curator, community builder, writer and artist. She is the founder of We Are Museums, the international platform of museum innovators and

change-makers.

Thursday 29 October

18.30 CET (Malta)

09.30 PDT

03.30 AEST

Alistair Hudson

Alistair is the Director of the Whitworth and Manchester Art Gallery and  co-director of the Asociación de Arte Útil - the international association promoting  ways for art to work effectively in ordinary life. Alistair is best known for his vision based on the concept of the Useful Museum. 

 

Thursday 12 November

18.30 CET (Malta)

09.30 PDT

03.30 AEST

Kristin Alford

Dr Kristin Alford is the Director of Australia’s leading, future-focused museum MOD. Her eclectic background includes engineering, human resources, marketing and science communications.

 

Saturday 28 November

 

09.30 CET (Malta)

00.30 PDT

18.30 AEST

Seb Chan

Seb Chan is Chief Experience Officer at the Australian Centre for the Moving Image (Melbourne). Prior to this he led the digital renewal and transformation of the Cooper Hewitt Smithsonian Design Museum in New York (2011-2015).

 

Saturday 5 December

09.30 CET (Malta)

00.30 PDT

18.30 AEST

Kayleigh

Bryant-Greenwell 

Kayleigh Bryant-Greenwell is Head of Public Programs with Smithsonian American Art Museum and the Renwick Gallery. In the wake of Covid-19 she leads an internal task force towards reopening strategies.

 

Friday 11 December

18.30 CET (Malta)

09.30 PDT

03.30 AEST

©2020 by MUŻE.X - Shaping Museum Futures. Proudly created with Wix.com